In 2023, the United Nations announced the Climate Action programme which encourages governments, businesses, financial institutions, centres of innovation, communities and non-profit organizations like BE OPEN to take a joint action to come up with new technologies and accelerate the shift towards sustainable infrastructure.

Design Your Climate Action is an International competition developed by humanitarian educational initiative BE OPEN and its partners. It is open to all students, graduates and young professionals who specialise in the fields of design, architecture, engineering and media globally. The competition aims to encourage creation of innovative solutions by younger creatives, for a more prosperous and sustainable future; the focus of the competition is the United Nations’ SDG13: Climate Action.

BE OPEN strongly believes that creativity is integral in the shift to sustainable existence. We need creative thinking – design thinking – and creative action. Design has a crucial role to play as an instrument or vehicle for the implementation of the UN SDGs.

Elena Baturina, Founder of BE OPEN explains the objective of the project: “I am certain that involving young creative people in developing solutions centered on the SDG agenda is a very wholesome way of raising awareness of sustainability principles and encouraging development of promising innovative ideas. Our contestants are capable of hard work, commitment and creativity, and we believe in their ability to make a real difference and inspire change for a more sustainable future for all of us.”

Projects for the competition must be submitted untill December 31st, 2023 and relate to one of the following submission categories: Raising Resilience and Adaptation, Energy of Change and Solutions Offered by Nature.

BE OPEN will reward the best work with five monetary prizes ranging from €2,000 to €5,000. 

The international jury will select the top 50 honourable mentions, then decide amongst the strongest submissions and name the winners of the First, Second and Third Prizes out of all submissions.

The Founder’s Choice prize is allocated by the Founder of BE OPEN Elena Baturina who will select the awardee out of 50 honourable mentions. The Public Vote prize winner will be decided upon by the majority of votes in an online open vote from 50 honorary mentions.

Lasă un răspuns